My Top 5 Tracks Of The Year – Joe Cherry


I must confess I haven’t had my finger on the pulse this year. I spent most of the time filling my ears with Kendrick Lamar’s ‘Sing About Me, Dying Of Thirst’, Nathaniel Rateliff’s ‘You Should Have Seen The Other Guy’ and Joe Hisaishi’s beautiful soundtrack to Spirited Away. However a few new numbers have managed to sneak there way in among my solid favourites, and they are as follows.

1. Anais Mitchell – ‘Now You Know’

A song that beautifully depicts life, love, and family. I think this ones going to stick around my whole life.

2. Kendrick Lamar – ‘i’

I recently said at a party, rather drunkenly “I think Kendrick is the only artist doing anything relevant these days!” I almost agree with myself.

3. Prince and 3RDEYEGIRL – ‘PRETZELBODYLOGIC’

I don’t know what pretzelbodylogic is. All I know is, it’s probably dirty and this tune is crazy cool.

4. Little Comets – ‘The Blur, The Line And The Thickest Of Onions’

Of all the backlash from Robin Thicke’s ‘Blurred Lines’ this has got to be the best. The orchestral style of this is so unique and the lyrics deal with misogynism brilliantly without being preachy or cheesy.

5. Ryan Hemsworth and Dawn Golden – ‘Snow In Newark’

For me this song embodies everything that was cool about the brooding pop punk soundtracks that filled all the movies and television of the ’00s. Yet it’s still super modern and electronic. More like this in 2015 please.

Joe Cherry

Leave a Reply

