My Top 5 Tracks Of The Year – Grant Reid


The time has come to reflect on some of the finest music 2014 has had to offer. It’s entirely subjective, but here are my highlights from what has been an exciting year in music.

1. Mallory Knox – ‘Shout At The Moon’

Not to be confused with Woody Harrelson’s character in Natural Born Killers, Cambridge five-piece Mallory Knox are the newest mainstream name in the UK rock circuit, despite honing their craft from 2009. Shout At The Moon’ followed début single Ghost In The Mirror’ from their Top 20 album Asymmetry. It’s an exciting sound that takes me back to my days in high school with bands like Lostprophets, You Me At Six and Kids In Glass Houses drowning out the things I had just ‘learned’ in geography.

2. Sia – Chandelier’

My guilty pleasure of the year makes this list. I’m not sure whether it’s because I couldn’t think of anything that could eclipse Chandelier’ in this list or whether I’m just a sucker for a massive, pleading vocal… Released in March, Chandelier’ is Sia’s highest chart hit in her 17-year career (yes, it surprised me too that this isn’t sung by the next fame-hungry, auto-tuned teen) with the exception of Flo Rida’s Wild Ones’, which steamed the charts worldwide in 2011. Regardless, this is an absolute banger from the Aussie lass. Worth all the awkward air-grabs in my bedroom, alone…

3. Nothing But Thieves – Graveyard Whistling’

I’m THAT kind of music fan that has to be punctual enough for a gig to see every support act, regardless if they are completely anonymous to me. I was introduced to Nothing But Thieves supporting Twin Atlantic at Glasgow’s Barrowlands and I wasn’t disappointed. Graveyard Whistling’ is that kind of breakthrough song you’d hear in a film or a TV show and have you immersed in atmosphere. I’d safely have it in my film’s soundtrack anyway!

4. Thumpers – Unkinder (A Tougher Love)’

Please, if you take nothing else from this article I urge you to listen to this at least once, and try stopping yourself from clicking replay. Unkinder (A Tougher Love)’ is the synth pop duo’s début single from their Galore EP, released in September of this year. Simply put, it’s an addictive feel-good three minutes. And if the band can share a stage with Chvrches and Two Door Cinema Club it must be worth a listen, right?

5. Hozier – From Eden’

Wow! What a year 2014 has been for 24-year old Andrew Hozier-Byrne. The internet, radio stations and download outlets exploded when he emerged with Take Me To Church’, but the real hidden gem is the bluesy From Eden’, which reached similar heights to his début single, peaking at number two in his native Ireland’s charts. Hozier takes the final place on my Top 5 for 2014!

Grant Reid

Leave a Reply

