Stromae, Lorde, Kanye West, Pusha T, The Hunger Games? Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 Has An Incredible Soundtrack

The Hunger Games, those films with Jennifer Lawrence and some other people who have to kill each other in some sort of jokes alternate reality type deal. I can’t lie I’ve seen the two films and they are enjoyable, easy to watch films but I’ve never really been that excited about them until now. The soundtrack that is accompanying the film is set to practically be better than the film itself, featuring artists such as Lorde, Pusha T, Kanye West, the Chemical Brothers and many, many more. It’s shaping up to be one of the best soundtracks ever.

So where to start with the soundtrack? Well I thought I may as well give you guys the tracklist as it will obviously do a better job of showing how epic this soundtrack is going be than me just saying it!:

01. Stromae – ‘Meltdown’ (ft. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip, Haim)

02. Chvrches – ‘Dead Air’

03. Tove Lo – ‘Scream My Name’

04. Charli XCX – ‘Kingdom’ (ft. Simon Le Bon)

05. Major Lazer ft. Ariana Grande – ‘All My Love’

06. Raury – ‘Lost Souls’

07. Lorde – ‘Yellow Flicker Beat’

08. Tinashé – ‘The Leap’

09. Bat for Lashes – ‘Plan the Escape’

10. Grace Jones – ‘Original Beast’

11. Lorde – ‘Flicker’ (Kanye West Rework)

12. XOV – ‘Animal’

13. The Chemical Brothers – ‘This Is Not a Game’ (ft. Miguel)

14. Lorde – ‘Ladder Song’

Now how fucking epic does that look?! I mean seriously one song featuring Stromae, Lorde, Pusha T, Q Tip, and HAIM! Does it get better than that? I don’t think so. Three songs have been released so far, Lorde’s ‘Yellow Flicker Beat’ ‘Flicker (Kanye West Rework)’ and that posse cut Stromae’s ‘Meltdown’.

Both pieces of new music from these artists are absolutely class, I’m going to start by talking about ‘Yellow Flicker Beat’. This tune somewhat represents what most of the album is going to sound like, well at least what I imagine it will be, it is a dark brooding sound that slowly builds from vocals from Lorde slowly being accompanied by more instruments culminating in a giant crescendo of a chorus. It has a great sense of foreboding and utilises dark, ambient sounds and chilling vocals that go hand in hand with setting of the film, the final battle/ending. I would compare it to Woodkid’s ‘Iron’ in terms of that cinematic epic feeling it gives you when you’re listening.

The remix (or rework) from Kanye West of Lorde’s ‘Flicker’ definitely justifies it’s inclusion with some subtle yet major changes to the already impressive tune from Lorde. What Kanye does so well with this rework is that he strips the tune back to feel far more ominous than before. The majority of the song has been ripped out and reduced to it’s minimum, while some much needed heavy bass is added to great effect, adding even more of that murky sound that sets the mood for the film.

Lastly Stromae’s ‘Meltdown’ uses the instrumental from his tune ‘Merci’ that again fits this mood they are going for perfectly, with a dancey yet brooding vibe to it. Some cheeky piano, sped up drums and some naughty bass fill this tune with all the right ingredients for a monstrous song. Add into this mixture Pusha T, Lorde, Q Tip and HAIM and we definitely have a success. King Push kicks us off in typically imperious fashion coming through with some nice bars in that powerful cocky yet relaxing tone only Pusha can pull off. Lorde follows on dropping a nice hook and verse for us that is classic Lorde all over and really brings the song together linking each section to the next with ease. Q Tip comes in an arguably steals the show with a short but sweet distinctive verse that to me really stands out above everyone else. HAIM put in an equally impressive shift in the song, letting everything really come together each artist brings their own flair to the song without completely taking over.

Lorde had been tasked with creating the soundtrack for this film and thus far she hasn’t disappointed with the full release coming on the 17th of November we don’t have to wait long to see what else is in store. I am definitely hyped for this film if not just for this epic soundtrack.

Will S x

One thought on “Stromae, Lorde, Kanye West, Pusha T, The Hunger Games? Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 Has An Incredible Soundtrack”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s