TBT – One For The Kid In All Of Us


For this week’s throw-back tune I decided to go with a personal favourite of mine – Rusted Root’s immortal ‘Send me on my Way’. This feel-good hippy hit is notorious for roles in movies like Matilda and Ice Age (before it got really, reeeeally shit), and it’s easy to see why the directors decided to go with it!

It’s relaxed, upbeat and it has a really interesting message should you be interested in deciphering it (Rusted Root were not exactly notorious for writing songs totally sober). It’s all fantastically easy to listen to, and for me it really has to be on everyone’s iPod – even if you hate it, there might just be that one time where you hear it and hark back to your childhood, and you might be surprised by how much you smile.

For me, without a doubt, it’s a class feel-good song and one of my all-time favourites. Rusted Root in general are a fun band, as long as you’re willing to go with them and take some pretty trippy lyrics (Cruel Sun and Ecstasy for example), but Send me on my Way can be enjoyed by anyone, anywhere, anytime. So, here you go…

 

 

Pete x

Leave a Reply

