#TBT Kanye Was Rocking In 2004…Is He Still Rocking 2014?


Now this really is a song to bring back some memories. I actually couldn’t believe it when researching what song to pick for my #TBT, that Kanye’s ‘Jesus Walks’ was 10 years old as of May this year. Doesn’t seem that long ago that he brought out ‘College Dropout’, just shows you how quickly time flies and new artists keep on giving us great music.

This album I have to say is probably to this day, my favourite offering from this fairly crazy US super rapper. To be honest his music back then, for me anyway, was far more real and in line with what he wanted achieve than his latest albums. The latest, for me, isn’t about making music that people are going to enjoy, but more about making a statement…if I’m being candid with you all, now I think he is a massive bellend, crying out for attention.

1079000770_1606851975_UMG-vidcvr-00602498862483-01-RGB72-640x480

BUT…(rant over) back to my #TBT. This track when I first heard it, completely put Kanye on my musical radar. The sheer audacity of West to create an anthem with a thundering and powerful drum beat mashed with Gospel undertones wouldn’t really be successful…(reading this if you have never heard the track it sounds obscene)…but it works and ‘Jesus’ it works well. The track is intense and Wests lyrics are meaningful and raw. “We at war with terrorism, racism, and most of all we at war with ourselves”, 10 years ago when West wrote this did he still think it would be as relevant then as it still is now I wonder? My favourite section of lyrics come well into the second verse, “They say you can rap about anything except for Jesus, that means guns, sex, lies, video tapes, but if I talk about God my record won’t get played Huh”?, just for one simple fact…he completely smashed that theory into little Kanye sized pieces. This song has sold over 500,000+ copies, was named Top 500 greatest songs ever by Rolling Stone and I can understand why. Its massively impressive and easily repeatable…what’s not to love.

Enjoy Guys.

T x

Leave a Reply

