Throwback Thursday: Marvin Gaye – I Heard It Through The Grapevine


Marvin Gaye - One Of The Greatest Singers Of All Time
Marvin Gaye – One Of The Greatest Singers Of All Time

Good evening followers, it’s Calum here again! Now, you may remember when we first started this blog in our very first posts we all introduced ourselves to you giving you an insight into our personality and music taste before we rhymed of our top 10 tracks of the year. Are you still with me? Good, because very cleverly this all links in. I’m not just rambling on for no good reason…or am I? Anyway in my first post I stated I was in a very deep ‘soul hole’ (of which I still haven’t been able to drag myself out of) so naturally the first post in our series of #tbt (Throwback Thursdays) was very easy for me.

I’ve gone with a very big throwback, all the way back to 1968 in fact, to the height of the Motown era in American soul music with ‘I Heard It Through The Grapevine’ by the legendary Marvin Gaye.

Beside perhaps only Otis Redding, Gaye is my favourite singer of all time and in my opinion one of the greatest to boot. He was flawless and effortless when he teased adoring crowds with his silky smooth voice. For me, he was at his best in the early days when he sang soul music on the world famous Motown label and ‘I Heard It Through The Grapevine’ is his crowning glory.

In this track Gaye displays his full vocal range from outstandingly powerful wails at the start of the verses to high cries during them. This song just grabs, straps you in and doesn’t stop thrilling you. Just when you think Marvin is finished he comes back with another strong note at the start of a verse and leads you up to that chorus that everyone knows. The track epitomises it’s genre, label, and music at that time in the late ’60s – an absolutely timeless classic. It was recently voted as the nation’s favourite Motown song, even up against stiff competition from the likes of Stevie Wonder and Diana Ross and The Supremes there is still simply no match.

Gaye sadly passed away in tragic circumstances in 1984 at the age of 44 but his legend still lives on today. 30 years on The Music Brewery salutes you Marvin.

Enjoy.

Peace

CW x

 

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Marvin Gaye – I Heard It Through The Grapevine”

Leave a Reply

